Ex Libris Lunar

Recommended Reading

We’ve hand-selected these books because of how they talk about design being used on the inside of an organization to make a difference.

Design to Grow

Design to Grow

Learn how Coca-Cola uses design to grow its business by combining the advantages of scale with the agility to respond to fast-changing market conditions in Design to Grow from Coca-Cola’s Vice President of Innovation and Entrepreneurship.

In today’s world, every company is at risk of having a “Kodak Moment”—watching its industry and the competitive advantages it has developed over years, even decades, vanish overnight. The reason? An inability to adapt quickly to new business realities. Tomorrow’s business winners—regardless of size or industry—will be the ones that know how to combine scale with agility.

In Design to Grow, a Coca-Cola senior executive shares both the successes and failures of one of the world’s largest companies as it learns to use design to be both agile and big.

purchase

Rise of the DEO

Rise of the DEO

The majority of companies, their employees and their leaders navigate a space where competitors appear overnight, customers demand innovations monthly, business plans rarely last a full year and career ladders have been replaced by trampolines. This environment of constant change will only accelerate in the future and traditional business leaders are ill-equipped to deal with it.

Readers will learn why a new form of leadership—a hybrid of strategic business executive and creative problem-solver—is essential to the success of modern organizations and what characteristics are best suited to this role. The authors will help readers identify these skills in themselves and their colleagues and develop ways to build, revive or reinvent the next generation of great companies and organizations.

purchase

A More Beautiful Question

A More Beautiful Question

In this groundbreaking book, journalist and innovation expert Warren Berger shows that one of the most powerful forces for igniting change in business and in our daily lives is a simple, under-appreciated tool—one that has been available to us since childhood. Deep, imaginative and even “beautiful” questioning can help us identify and solve problems, come up with game-changing ideas, and pursue fresh opportunities.

Berger shows that the most creative and successful people tend to be expert questioners. They’ve mastered the art of inquiry, raising questions no one else is asking and finding answers everyone else is seeking. The author takes us inside red-hot businesses like Google, Netflix, IDEO and Airbnb to show how questioning is baked into their organizational DNA. A More Beautiful Question outlines a practical Why/ What If / How system of inquiry that can guide you through the process of innovative questioning and help you find imaginative, powerful answers to your own “beautiful questions.”

purchase

Creativity, Inc.

Creativity, Inc.

From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, the Academy Award-winning studio behind Inside Out and Toy Story, comes an incisive book about creativity in business that’s sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath.

Creativity, Inc. is, at heart, a book about how to build a creative culture, but it is also, as Catmull writes, “an expression of the ideas that I believe make the best in us possible.”

Fast Company raves that Creativity, Inc. “just might be the most thoughtful management book ever.”

purchase

The Design of Business

The Design of Business

Most companies today have innovation envy. They yearn to come up with a game-changing innovation like Apple’s iPod, or create an entirely new category like Facebook. Many make genuine efforts to be innovative—they spend on R&D, bring in creative designers and hire innovation consultants. But they get disappointing results.

Why? In The Design of Business, Roger L. Martin offers a compelling and provocative answer: We rely far too exclusively on analytical thinking, which merely refines current knowledge and produces only small improvements to the status quo.

purchase

Strategic Intuition

Strategic Intuition

Everyone knows you need creative thinking or entrepreneurial thinking or innovative thinking, or strategic thinking to succeed in the modern world. All of these kinds of thinking happen through flashes of insight—what William Duggan calls “strategic intuition.”

Over the past ten years, Duggan has conducted pioneering research on strategic intuition. In this eye-opening book he shows how strategic intuition lies at the heart of great achievements throughout human history: the scientific and computer revolutions, women’s suffrage, the civil rights movement, modern art, microfinance in poor countries, and more. Considering the achievements of people and organizations, from Bill Gates to Google, Copernicus to Martin Luther King, Picasso to Patton, you’ll never think the same way about strategy again.

purchase

Strategic Intuition

The Power of Glamour

In provocative detail with more than one hundred illustrations, critically acclaimed author Virginia Postrel separates glamour from glitz, revealing the qualities that make a person, an object, a setting, or an experience glamorous.

What is it that creates that pleasurable pang of desire—the feeling of “if only”: If only I could wear those clothes, belong to that group, drive that car, live in that house, and be (or be with) that person? Postrel identifies the three essential elements in all forms of glamour and explains how they work to create a distinctive sensation of projection and yearning.

purchase

In Pursuit of Elegance

In Pursuit of Elegance

In this thought-provoking exploration of why certain events, products, and people capture our attention and imaginations, Matthew E. May examines the elusive element behind so many innovative breakthroughs in fields ranging from physics and marketing to design and popular culture.

Combining unusual simplicity and surprising power, May characterizes "elegance" with four key elements: seduction, subtraction, symmetry and sustainability. In a compelling, story-driven narrative that sheds light on the need for elegance in design, engineering, art, urban planning, sports and work, May offers surprising evidence that what’s “not there” often trumps what is.

In the bestselling tradition of The Tipping Point, Made to Stick and The Black Swan, In Pursuit of Elegance will change the way you think about the world.

purchase

Made to Stick

Made to Stick

Why do some ideas thrive while others die? And how do we improve our chances of creating worthy ideas? In Made to Stick, accomplished educators and idea collectors Chip and Dan Heath tackle these vexing questions head-on. They reveal the anatomy of ideas that stick and explain ways to make ideas stickier, such as applying the “human scale principle” using the “Velcro Theory of Memory,” and creating “curiosity gaps.”

Made to Stick is a book that will transform the way you communicate ideas. It’s a fast-paced tour of success stories (and failures)—among them, the Nobel Prize-winning scientist who drank a glass of bacteria to prove a point about stomach ulcers; the charities who make use of “the Mother Teresa Effect”; and the elementary school teacher whose simulation actually prevented racial prejudice.

Provocative, eye-opening, and often surprisingly funny, Made to Stick shows us the vital principles of winning ideas—and tells us how we can apply these rules to make our own messages stick.

purchase

Switch: How to Change Things when Change is Hard

Switch: How to Change Things When Change is Hard

In Switch, the Chip and Dan Heath show how everyday people—employees and managers, parents and nurses—have united both minds and, as a result, achieved dramatic results:

  • The lowly medical interns who managed to defeat an entrenched, decades-old medical practice that was endangering patients.
  • The home-organizing guru who developed a simple technique for overcoming the dread of housekeeping.
  • The manager who transformed a lackadaisical customer-support team into service zealots by removing a standard tool of customer service.

Switch shows that successful changes follow a pattern, a pattern you can use to make the changes that matter to you, whether your interest is in changing your waistline or changing the world.

purchase

The Design of Everyday Things

The Design of Everyday Things

In this entertaining and insightful analysis, cognitive scientist Don Norman hails excellence in design as the most important key to regaining a competitive edge in influencing consumer behavior.

Now fully expanded and updated, with a new introduction by the author, The Design of Everyday Things is a powerful primer on how—and why—some products satisfy customers while others only frustrate them.

purchase

The Laws of Simplicity

The Laws of Simplicity

Sometimes we find ourselves caught up in the simplicity paradox: we want something that’s simple and easy to use, but we expect it to do all of the complex things we can imagine. In The Laws of Simplicity, John Maeda offers ten laws for balancing simplicity and complexity in business, technology, and design guidelines for needing less and actually getting more.

Maeda’s concise guide to simplicity in the digital age shows us how this idea can be a cornerstone of organizations and their products, driving both business and technology. We can learn to simplify without sacrificing comfort and meaning, and we can achieve the balance described in Law 10 (“Simplicity is about subtracting the obvious, and adding the meaningful.”").

purchase

MAKERS: The New Industrial Revolution

MAKERS: The New Industrial Revolution

Wired magazine editor and bestselling author Chris Anderson takes readers to the front lines of a new industrial revolution as today’s entrepreneurs—using open source design and 3-D printing—bring manufacturing to the desktop.

In an age of custom-fabricated, do-it-yourself product design and creation, the collective potential of a million garage tinkerers and enthusiasts is about to be unleashed, driving a resurgence of American manufacturing. A generation of ’makers” using the web’s innovation model will help drive the next big wave in the global economy, as the new technologies of digital design and rapid prototyping gives everyone the power to invent—creating “the long tail of things.”

purchase

Design as Future-Making

Design as Future-Making

Design as Future-Making brings together leading international designers, scholars and critics to examine ways that design is shaping the future. The contributors share an understanding of design as a practice that, with its focus on innovation and newness, is a natural ally of futurity.

Design as Future-Making locates design in a space of creative and critical reflection, examining the expanding nature of practice in fields such as biomedicine, sustainability, digital crafting, fashion, architecture, urbanism and design activism.

purchase